word on the street..

it’s funny how the opening of a new street can actually open up a lot more experiences…

i’m sitting on a step that leads to a semi furnished room, separated from the outside world with a large glass pane. it’s superbly dusty in there, but so is it here, outside, on and around the step. i’m looking at the lights that run up and down ‘Royal Hotel’….the street is new, and it’s the only building that seems sort of alive….all the others shut down when work began here about a year or two back…i guess it’d be a while before every other building is again lit up and alive with the blood of all the little ants marching in and out of them…

and i think back..to the first time i unknowingly stumbled onto this street, and walked that kilometer, a little more happier than i had been the day before…that night i watched the lazer beams from all the celebrations bounce off the clouds…

it was chilly, and the clouds were low, but seeing them lower made me feel warmer for some strange reason.

i got home, and headed back out…and i returned the next day with some renewed faith in my eyes….faith in myself..i let myself be for once…i let my actions flow…and i found beauty under a rock…beauty, comfort, something new and fresh…

comfort, there was so much comfort…

that little walk down the new street had no direct connection to the experiences i had that later that night when i left home…but indirectly, it did…the laser beams bouncing off of low clouds reminded me of a walk i walked with a friend….a walk where i somehow had the urge to let our arms get entangled….the same walk where i resisted this urge to do so…

i had traveled more than 3 hours by car that day, unwillingly, to a city that i dislike…that walk along the new street opened up my lungs and let my limbs come alive with blood again, purging my body of the negativity…

the chill in the air, extended my need for extra warmth…

and the look of the new street…cleaner than the rest, with the ‘fresh’ street look, new signals, and traffic tape hangings here and there…gave my eyes something new to see…and newness can be sometimes mildly, and other times majorly invigorating…this time, it was mild, but good enough…

and with all this in my spirit, i went to higher ground, i stepped into familiar territory in an unfamiliar way…i let myself be, let us bend and twist through the streets, let us resist our eyes demanding sleep, and let us sink into a sea of sheets…shadows curling and caving in and out with fear, yet trust, with broken hopes but a lot of faith and strength found in the fact that each of us had let our souls give in…

i gave in, and i’m still giving in…

i smile at the thought, that would normally freak me out…

he said he forgot i smoked…when i’m with him, i forget i smoke…smoke…it’s been a while since i smelled nicotine on my fingers…

sitting on this step, i pull out that cigarette and light it up…it’s been a while…my head feels light, there’s a mild pang of nausea and then my body feels light…

my smile insists on staying… it’s life and death, now prolonged at the thought that with his words…he can move me…

“i’m on the road of least resistance”

Leave a Reply

