Living Words…

Although I’ve been valuing silence more and more as the years go by…my love for words, I know, will never die…

In my family my parents never, in particular, cultivated a love for books, poetry or words in general, and their parents did the same…in their generation that wasn’t important…just getting through school, university, getting a good job, getting married, being responsible , respecting adults, taking care of your parents …that’s all that mattered…continuity, security…
Exploring methods of expresaing yourself did not even cross their minds…

And by the time my siblings and I came about, my parents were conditioned enough to know that the only important thing was to continue the process..

But we were born in a different society from theirs….we were , in a sense, based on what they learnt….”deviants”..

That being said, my father has occasionally written poems..he always had a flare for words and used to write speeches…
My mother is the daughter of a journalist and has also had to write formal speeches on several occassions…

both of them, still, never had to acknowledged the power of words or poetry or verse…so the love never surfaced…

Thus, my love of words came about perhaps, partly from their unintended influence..

but it grew and really took flight was when I started to get into music….
until then I had written a random poem or two, just to make things rhyme, out of childish pleasure…

but when music really got to me I realized it wasnt just the rhythm or the tunes it was the words…music couldnt just be something I listen to…it had to be somerhing I could relate to…I could only relate to it if the words…

Now ‘Butterfly’ by Crazytown may have sounded good..but to me, the lyrics, were just crap..on the other hand ‘Eulogy’ by Tool or ‘Take the long road’ by The Music did not just sound good..but lyrics were beautiful to me..they made sense…they moved me and connected to me
..or rather I connected to them..

The Music – Take the Long Road and Walk it

Tool – Eulogy

and I began to write lyrics…it caught onto me like wildfire…and I couldnt stop..

And out of my passion for writing lyrics, my passion for poetry grew
..but it really hit me, when in grade 9 we began preparing for our O levels (Cambridge- based, board exams), we began, perhaps the most beautiful bunch of poems that school had ever presented us with…

for once poems were not just about the same thing again and again…they were explorations of the mind body and soul…

and I saw poems as closely linked to lyrics….I used to sing poems out so I that could learn them…
and discovering the art of words…has been one of the most beautiful and enlightening experiences of my life…
I am not as well versed as I’d like to be…I have a whole lot of exploring to do…but I love it…

words are powerful..in the framework of poetry, their powers come alive..

When spoken they can take so many shapes and sizes….when written they can take so many bends and turns…

words are like dropplets of water…they can dampen your mood or refresh your mind….

words are like fire…they can burn.you or warm you up…they can melt your soul and ignite your passion…

words are like the air…they are everywhere and can be silent or loud…

In silence they can form substance , in noise they can calm things down…

words are like the earth…they can set the foundation to build towers…they can crack up to swallow you in…you can dig your feet into them to find ground…you can scatter them around carelessly or carefully structure them…and they can last forever in the depths of a mountain or fade away like dying stars…

Leanord Cohen once said, ‘Poetry is just the evidence of life.If your life is burning well, poetry is just the ash.’

I’d add the poetry is like the flame as well…

In poetry, in lyrics, in books…I found continuity and security…music, lyrics and poems educated me, forcing me to learn new words, understand and explore emotions…and I know a lot of people who can relate to this feeling…

the country I grew up in was starved of creative initiatives, buto off-lately some beautiful initiatives such as this – http://m.youtube.com/#/channel/UCfXlsJKRgpEl4RWk6nnW5sQ?feature=&view=&desktop_uri=%2Fchannel%2FUCfXlsJKRgpEl4RWk6nnW5sQ%3Fview%26feature have been blooming in places around me and its amazing and inspiring…you see poetry come to life…and take flight and pushed you to keep moving forward…

Sarah Kay – a spoken word, performance…

Happy World POetry Day

Here’s an awesome place to inspire your inner poet or poetess…http://allpoetry.com/poems/dashboard

I’ll leave you with this one poem that greatly moved me when I was young…

Prayer Before Birth – Louis Macneice

Leave a Reply

